basketball Edit

Soldiers take Peach Jam Title

For the second time, the Oakland Soldiers won the Nike Peach Jam title in the signature event for the July viewing period. Their other title came in 2012 with future NBA draft picks Aaron Gordon, Stanley Johnson and Jabari Bird.

After splitting their first four games in pool play, the Oakland Soldiers beat PSA Cardinals (63-62) to end pool play and then navigated their way through the final eight with victories against Each 1 Teach 1 (91-71), Boo Williams (65-59) and Team Takeover (70-63).

Salesian point guard James Akinjo was named Peach Jam MVP in averaging 18 points, six assists and four rebounds.

The Prolific Prep duo of Amadou Sow (10 points and eight rebounds) and Sekou Toure (11 points and five rebounds) was key in addition to St. Augustine’s Taeshon Cherry (USC), who finished with 10 points and seven rebounds per game.

Folsom 2018 forward Mason Forbes averaged seven points and three rebounds per game.